Our achievements

Mack Sennett

Mack Sennett

(January 17, 1880 in Danville, Quebec – November 5, 1960 in Woodland Hills, CA)

, whose real name is Michael Sinnott, is an American filmmaker. He was one of the most important directors of the American silent film industry. During his lifetime, he was called “the king of comedy.” Born in Danville, Mack Sennett contributes through its history, to promoting the region up to California.

In 1912, he founded the Keystone Studio in Hollywood, which launched the careers of several legends of burlesque theater, such as Charlie Chaplin and Roscoe “Fatty” Arbuckle. (From Wikipedia). He produced more than 1,000 films.

The arrival of talking movies put an end to the career of the stars of the silent film industry. Sennett quite understand the problem and knew that with the talking nothing would be the same. He had to close his studio in 1932. Ruined in 1935, he left to join his family in Canada. He went back to California in 1939, and tried again in the film industry as co-producer of the Fox Company.

His life ended in Hollywood, in a hospice where he died at the age of 80 years, on November 5, 1960. Mack Sennett, King of Comedy and stars discoverer, is one of the great pioneers that has its place in the pantheon of the 7th Art.

Nos réussites

Mack Sennett

Mack Sennett

(17 janvier 1880 à Danville, Québec – 5 novembre 1960 à Woodland Hills, Californie)

Mack Sennett, de son vrai nom Michael Sinnott, est un cinéaste américain. Il fut l’un des réalisateurs les plus importants du cinéma muet américain. De son vivant, on l’appelait « le roi de la comédie ». Né à Danville, Mack Sennett contribue, par son histoire, à faire rayonner la région jusqu’en Californie.

En 1912, il fonda à Hollywood le studio Keystone, qui a lancé les carrières de plusieurs légendes du cinéma burlesque, telles que Charlie Chaplin et Roscoe « Fatty » Arbuckle. (Extraits de Wikipédia). Il réalisa plus de 1 000 films.

La venue du film parlant mit un terme à la carrière de la majorité des stars du muet. Sennett comprit très bien le problème et sut qu’avec le parlant plus rien ne serait comme avant. Il dut se résigner à fermer ses studios en 1932. Ruiné en 1935, il partit rejoindre les siens retournés au Canada. Il revint en Californie en 1939, et s’essaya de nouveau au cinéma comme co-producteur de la Fox.

Il finit son existence, à Hollywood, dans un hospice où il mourut à l’âge de 80 ans, le 5 novembre 1960. Mack Sennett, roi de la comédie et découvreur d’étoiles, est l’un des grands pionniers qui a sa place au panthéon du 7e Art.