Des Sources Region

Des Sources Region: Seven municipalities in the heart of Quebec

Located in Estrie region in the heart of Quebec, close to major centers and the United States, the Des Sources region consists of seven municipalities spreading over some 786 km2 and led by more than 15 000 residents. In addition, they form a region in which coexist urban and rural lifestyle, a job diversity and a full range of public services that provide a sense of well-being to its people.

Tightly Knit, the community gathers creative people, open to difference, welcoming and hard working. Here, proximity is not a concept of planning, it’s a lifestyle. Mutual assistance exists not only between citizens, it also defines the relationship between local companies.

With its breathtaking scenery and remarkable quality of life, we only have to look around us to face the facts: The Des Sources Region is the perfect place to live, work or stay.

Asbestos

ville.asbestos.qc.ca

Central municipality of Les Sources RCM, Asbestos shelters all the business and services of the territory, in as much as professional, medical or academic. With its mining origin, it has a significant industrial experience. Synergy inhabiting its industrial park reflects the mesh that has developed among businesses. Each of these aspects has helped make the town one of choice for growing a business and settle his family.

“For an entrepreneur, the quality of service often depends on the ability to respond quickly to customers’ needs. For this reason, we chose without hesitation the town of Asbestos. Unlike a major urban center where we would have been a project among others, we received a warm welcome and were quickly directed to stakeholders who have parts in our success.” Frédéric Tremblay, President, Groupe LTI inc.

Asbestos is the fourth most populous town in the Estrie region with its 7,100 citizens. This is an environment for a rich and diverse way of like. Close to open spaces, which allows small breakouts every day in hiking, cross-country skiing and snowshoeing trails, or at Club de Golf Royal Estrie, recognized as one of the finest golf course in the Eastern Townships. The resort area of Lake Trois-Lacs allows to end up on vacations … 5 minutes after work!

DISCOVER ASBESTOS, IS TO FIND A PLACE TO LIVE FULLY!

Danville

danville.ca

Set on the edge of the tourist regions of the Estrie Region and Victoriaville Area, Danville owes its growth to the arrival of the railway in the mid-19th century. Graced but beautiful Victorian homes as well as a square built in the American style, Danville is overflowing with heritage treasures that are proof of the American Empire Loyalists of New England passage in the territory. Birthplace of many prominent figures, including Mack Sennett, who was one of the most important directors of the American silent film industry, Daniel Johnson Sr., who was Premier of Quebec as well as the literary and dramatic author and artist Jovette Marchessault who lived in Danville and deceased on December 31, 2012. Danville’s rich heritage definitely makes it a major destination.

Recognized first Village-Relais in the province of Quebec, the Town of Danville offers everyone a rich architectural history. Cycling is honored by accessing the Route Verte of the province of Quebec and the services of our Regional County Municipality Tourism Office. Birdwatchers will be thrilled to discover over 250 species of birds in the landscaped browsing Burbank Pond trails. The art lovers can discover well-known artists during a visit to the art gallery of Symposium des Arts and many other galleries and artists workshops. Considering the 116 and 255 provincial highways crossing its territory and that highway 20 and 55 are nearby, Danville becomes a strategic location, suitable for business development.

Finally, there are many voluntary organizations in the territory such as Chambers of Commerce and Industry, Farming, Canadian Legion, Optimist, the Green Corridors, Youth House, St-Jean Baptiste Society, Danville Historical Society and the Daughters of Isabella, to name only these very active and dynamic organizations!

To visit Danville, is to adopt it and wanting to stay!

Ham-Sud

ham-sud.ca

Ham-Sud is a charming municipality with tourism and, an agricultural and forestry vocation. It is located at the border of the Estrie region, in Les Sources RCM, and the Bois-Francs region.

In the early 19th century, the village was the administrative center of the region, formerly known as the county town of Wolfe County. Gosford Road, the main artery of the municipality, reports the story of the King’s Road linking Quebec to Boston. Note that the village retains some heritage buildings from this era.

Ham-Sud has landscapes that leave no one indifferent. A haven for nature lovers, The Mont-Ham, with its 713 meters, reveals a breathtaking view of the surroundings. The Lac à la Truite provides a perfect environment for fishing amateurs and a rustic site for camping. The surrounding area is a great place for hunting and perform outdoor activities.

Saint-Adrien

st-adrien.com

A lifestyle!

Founded in 1878, St-Adrien is a charming picturesque village, nestled between Mont-Ham and Petit Mon-Ham. Saint-Adrien offers architecture of great interest with its presbytery, its church and its string of French-Canadian homes. Saint-Adrien is known for its very good quality of life due to the presence of local services such as school, grocery store, gas station, post office, etc., as well as a variety of activities on its territory. We find in Saint-Adrien friendly people, proud of their roots and their environment, both physical and social.

Traditional agricultural and forestry production alongside niche production, while a large number of artists and artisans have taken up residence. The cultural center, La Meunerie, offers an annual program dedicated to emerging music act.

A wide variety of lands are available for the construction of single-family homes, in the country or in the village. If you are looking for a haven of tranquility, charm, fresh air and vitality to see your children grow up into: St-Adrien is a lifestyle!

Saint-Camille

saint-camille.ca

A learning, innovative and unified community

Saint-Camille is a vibrant municipality that draws on the ingenuity and solidarity of its residents for its growth and development. Whether you’re visiting for a few hours or to operate a sustainable business, this community offers a warm welcome.

Saint-Camille offers a remarkable living environment: several family day care services, a committed recreational committee, a well-stocked library, complete sports facilities, a unique cultural and artistic presence, and a dynamic primary school. The municipality is also one of the most beautiful village-fleuri of Quebec with its four finials.

Meeting place par excellence, the old general store, now the P’tit Bonheur de Saint-Camille, is recognized for its art gallery and intimate auditorium where professional artists perform. For over 25 years, the organization has played a central role in the coordination and development of the community. Young and old converge there to enjoy the famous pizza on Fridays and the community meals. This is how ideas circulate, projects germinate and a collective mind frame is weaved!

At the heart of the village, we notice several buildings dating from 1875; the grocery store with its veranda, the P’tit Bonheur, the church and the presbytery, which now houses a cooperative housing for seniors. The Saint-Antoine chapel completes this outstanding architectural aggregate. Built in 1899, pilgrims and classical music lovers have been gathering to enjoy a great summer program.

For its development, St-Camille relies on creative entrepreneurs, a dynamic young succession of farmers and the presence of many skilled professionals. Indeed, the proximity to the city of Sherbrooke, the arrival of high-speed internet and the development of an original property offering led to the establishment of many new families, significantly diversifying the village economy in the past few years.

Today, Saint-Camille relies on the presence of niche food productions, cultural workers and ICT, and superior business services sector which profit from this living environment and contribute to its growth. For any business or school project, the Corporation of socio-economic development of Saint-Camille is an excellent partner for these approach.

We join you to visit Saint-Camille, a learning, innovative and unified community. Welcome to our community!

Saint-Georges-de-Windsor

st-georges-de-windsor.org

Characterized by its hills, Saint-Georges-de-Windsor is worth the look. On the edge of Route 249, there is a unique lookout when stopping at the Halte des Horizons where a belvedere shaped like a cow stands. In the village, the rich architectural heritage of the church, built in 1870, is a religious symbol of exceptional value. The fame of the Saint-Georgeois is also explained by the quality of its cheese. Nothing beats family tasting “whey” or “petit lait” of the local cheese factory (Fromagerie Proulx), where hundreds of people meet and greet on week nights, but also on Saturday and Sunday afternoons.

Saint-Georges-de-Windsor is a thriving municipality, known for the dynamism and the warm hospitality of its people. Many community organizations and businesses brighten the community, all in a prosperous environment. The residential sector has recently experienced a remarkable increase with the construction of a dozen residences, an apartment building and a new 51 places childcare center. Meanwhile, Lake St-Georges offers a rustic area greatly appreciated by visitors.

All the life force of the community join hands to make the community a better place to live. The municipality has at heart the welfare of its people and strives to achieve anything that can increase their quality of life.

Saint-Georges-de-Windsor; a beautiful scenery, a rustic nature, a human environment and a moving-forward force.

Wotton

wotton.ca

Surrounded by a splendid mosaic of valleys nestled at the foot of the Appalachian Mountains, the town of Wotton offers exceptional areas and majestic panoramas.

With a population of 1,454 residents, it is a thriving agricultural municipality with approximately 20 farms, 19 community organizations, 54 businesses and shops, including an industrial park, an elementary school, an Early Childhood Center, a municipal park, a library and several recreational facilities such as swimming pool, tennis court, Multifunctional center, baseball field and pétanque games.

At Wotton, there is a great synergy between the people and organizations that drive the ambiance, making it more dynamic. Every effort is made to ensure that the needs of all are met, ranging from young to the young at heart. With its many founding families, Wotton has preserved over time its traditional family values.

First French village of the Estrie Region, the residents of Wotton are great hard working people and take it from their pioneers who forged the soul of rural Quebec as first landowners freed from lordships. The welcoming and friendly reputation of the Wottonnais is second to none. Each year, many visitors return to the municipality for its agri-tourism attractions and events. The Festival Country, the Festival des Traditions, the Miellerie Lambert and the farm and cheese factory La Maison Grise are just a few examples of visitor’s attraction which makes Wotton residents very proud.

La région Des Sources

La région des Sources, sept municipalités au cœur du Québec

Située en Estrie au cœur du Québec et à proximité de grands centres et des États-Unis, la région des Sources se compose de sept municipalités réparties sur 786 km2 et comptant plus de 15 000 habitants. Toutes complémentaires, elles forment une région dans laquelle se côtoient un style de vie urbain et rural, un tissu d’emploi varié et une offre complète de services publics qui procurent un sentiment de bien-être à ceux qui l’habitent.

Tissée serrée, la communauté rassemble des gens créatifs, ouverts à la différence, accueillants et travaillants. Ici, la proximité n’est pas qu’une notion d’urbanisme, c’est un mode de vie. L’entraide n’existe pas seulement entre les citoyens, elle définit également les relations entre les entreprises.

Avec son paysage époustouflant et sa qualité de vie remarquable, il suffit de regarder autour de nous pour se rendre à l’évidence : la région des Sources est le cadre idéal pour y vivre, y travailler ou y séjourner.

Asbestos

ville.asbestos.qc.ca

Ville-centre de la MRC des Sources, Asbestos dispose de l’ensemble des commerces et services du territoire, tant professionnels que scolaires ou médicaux. Forte de son origine minière, elle bénéficie d’une importante expérience industrielle. La synergie qui habite son parc industriel témoigne du maillage qu’ont développé les entreprises entre elles. Chacun de ces aspects a contribué à en faire la ville par excellence pour développer une entreprise et pour y installer sa famille.

«Pour un entrepreneur, la qualité du service dépend souvent de la capacité à répondre rapidement aux besoins des clients. Pour cette raison, nous avons choisi sans hésitation la ville d’Asbestos. Contrairement à un grand centre urbain où nous aurions été un projet parmi d’autres, nous avons reçu un accueil personnalisé et avons été dirigé rapidement vers les intervenants qui ont su participer à notre succès.» Frédéric Tremblay, président, Groupe LTI inc.

Asbestos est la 4e ville la plus populeuse en Estrie avec ses 7 100 citoyens. Il s’agit d’un milieu de vie riche et diversifié, à proximité de grands espaces, qui permet des petites évasions au quotidien dans des sentiers pédestres, des pistes de ski de fond et de raquettes ou au Club de Golf Royal Estrie, reconnu comme l’un des beaux parcours des Cantons-de-l’Est. Le secteur de villégiature du lac Trois-Lacs permet quant à lui de se retrouver en vacances… 5 minutes après le boulot !

Découvrir Asbestos, c’est trouver un endroit pour y vivre pleinement !

Danville

danville.ca

Située à la limite des régions touristiques des Cantons-de-l’Est et de Victoriaville et sa région, Danville doit son essor à l’arrivée du chemin de fer au milieu du 19e siècle. De magnifiques maisons victoriennes et son Carré à l’américaine témoignent du passage des Loyalistes de la Nouvelle-Angleterre sur le territoire. Ville natale de nombreuses personnalités marquantes, dont Mack Sennett, qui fut l’un des réalisateurs les plus importants du cinéma muet américain, Daniel Johnson père, qui fut premier ministre du Québec et l’artiste auteure littéraire et dramatique Jovette Marchessault qui y a vécu et y est décédée le 31 décembre 2012, son riche patrimoine fait de Danville une destination incontournable.

Reconnue premier Village-Relais de la province de Québec, la ville de Danville offre à tous un endroit riche d’architecture par son histoire. Le cyclisme y est à l’honneur par l’accès à la Route Verte du Québec ainsi qu’aux services de notre Bureau d’information touristique. Les ornithologues seront ravis de découvrir plus de 250 espèces d’oiseaux recensées en parcourant les sentiers aménagés de l’Étang Burbank. Les passionnés d’arts pourront découvrir des artistes reconnus lors d’une visite à la galerie d’art du Symposium des Arts ainsi que plusieurs autres galeries et ateliers. Considérant que les routes provinciales 116 et 255 traversent son territoire et que les autoroutes 20 et 55 se trouvent à proximité, Danville devient donc un emplacement stratégique, propice au développement des affaires.

Finalement, de nombreux organismes bénévoles sont présents sur le territoire. Chambre de commerce et d’industrie, Fermières, Légion canadienne, Optimistes, Corridors Verts, Maison des jeunes, Société St-Jean Baptiste, Société d’histoire de Danville et Filles d’Isabelle, pour ne nommer que ceux-ci, sont actifs et dynamisent le milieu!

Visitez Danville, c’est l’adopter et vouloir y rester!

Ham-Sud

ham-sud.ca

Ham-Sud est une charmante municipalité à vocation touristique, agricole et forestière, située aux confins de l’Estrie dans la MRC des Sources à la frontière des Bois-Francs.

Au début du 19e siècle, le village était le centre administratif de la région, dit autrefois chef-lieu du comté de Wolfe. Le chemin Gosford, artère principale de la municipalité, relate l’histoire du chemin du Roi qui reliait Québec à Boston. De ce passé, le village a gardé certains bâtiments patrimoniaux.

Ham-Sud est sculptée de paysages qui ne laissent personne indifférent. Véritable paradis pour les amants de la nature, le Mont-Ham, avec ses 713 mètres, révèle une vue imprenable sur les environs. Le Lac à la Truite offre un environnement parfait pour les amateurs de pêche et un site rustique pour le camping. Le territoire environnant est un lieu privilégié pour la chasse et les activités de plein air.

Saint-Adrien

st-adrien.com

Fondé en 1878, St-Adrien est un charmant village pittoresque, lové entre le Mont-Ham et le petit Mont-Ham. Saint-Adrien offre une architecture d’un grand intérêt avec son presbytère, son église et son chapelet de maisons canadiennes-françaises. Saint-Adrien se démarque par une très belle qualité de vie due à la présence de services de proximité (école, épicerie, poste à essence, bureau de poste, etc.) et à la diversité des activités réalisées sur son territoire. On trouve à Saint-Adrien des gens accueillants, fiers de leurs racines et de leur environnement, tant physique que social.

Les productions agricoles et forestières traditionnelles côtoient les productions de niche, alors qu’un grand nombre d’artistes et d’artisans y ont élu domicile. Le centre culturel, La Meunerie, offre une programmation annuelle dédiée à la scène musicale émergente.

Une grande variété de terrains sont disponibles pour la construction de maisons unifamiliales soit en campagne ou au village. Si vous cherchez un havre de quiétude, de charmes, d’air pur et de vitalité pour y voir grandir vos enfants, St-Adrien, un art de vivre!

Saint-Camille

saint-camille.ca

Une communauté apprenante, innovante et solidaire, Saint-Camille est une municipalité vivante qui puise dans l’ingéniosité et la solidarité de ses citoyens pour son essor et son développement. Que vous soyez en visite pour quelques heures ou pour un établissement durable, notre communauté vous réserve un accueil chaleureux.

Saint-Camille offre un cadre de vie remarquable : plusieurs services de garde en milieu familial, un comité des loisirs engagé, une bibliothèque bien garnie, des infrastructures sportives complètes, une offre culturelle et artistique exceptionnelle et une école primaire dynamique. La municipalité fait également partie des plus beaux villages fleuris du Québec avec ses quatre fleurons.

Lieu de rencontre par excellence, l’ancien magasin général, aujourd’hui le P’tit Bonheur de Saint-Camille, est un centre culturel reconnu avec sa galerie d’art et sa salle de spectacle intimiste où se produisent des artistes professionnels. Depuis plus de 25 ans, l’organisme joue un rôle central dans l’animation et le développement de la communauté. Petits et grands s’y rejoignent pour déguster la fameuse pizza du vendredi et les repas communautaires. Ainsi circulent les idées, germent les projets et se tisse la trame collective !

Au cœur du village, on remarquera d’emblée plusieurs bâtiments datant de 1875, tels l’épicerie avec sa loggia, le P’tit Bonheur, l’église et le presbytère qui abrite aujourd’hui une coopérative d’habitation pour les aînés. La chapelle Saint-Antoine complète cet ensemble architectural remarquable. Construite en 1899, les pèlerins s’y donnent rendez-vous ainsi que les amateurs de musique classique dans le cadre d’une superbe programmation estivale.

Pour son développement, Saint-Camille bénéficie d’entrepreneurs créatifs, d’une relève agricole dynamique et la présence de nombreux professionnels spécialisés. En effet, la proximité avec la ville de Sherbrooke, l’arrivée d’Internet haute vitesse et le développement d’une offre immobilière originale ont permis l’établissement de nombreuses nouvelles familles, diversifiant de façon importante l’économie du village dans les dernières années.

Aujourd’hui, Saint-Camille compte sur la présence de productions agroalimentaires de niche, de travailleurs culturels et des technologies de l’information et des communications (TIC) et d’entreprises du secteur tertiaire supérieur qui profitent de ce cadre de vie et contribuent à son essor. Pour tout projet d’affaire ou d’établissement, la Corporation de développement socioéconomique de Saint-Camille est un interlocuteur de choix dans ces démarches.

Nous vous invitons à venir visiter Saint-Camille, une communauté apprenante, innovante et solidaire. Bienvenue chez nous !

Saint-Georges-de-Windsor

st-georges-de-windsor.org

Caractérisée par ses hauteurs, Saint-Georges-de-Windsor vaut le coup d’œil. Aux abords de la route 249, on y jouit d’un point de vue incomparable lorsqu’on s’arrête à la Halte des Horizons où se dresse un belvédère en forme de vache. Au village, la richesse du patrimoine de l’église, bâtie en 1870, constitue un bien religieux d’une valeur exceptionnelle. La renommée des Saint-Georgeois s’explique de surcroît par la qualité de son fromage. Rien ne vaut la dégustation familiale du « petit lait » à la fromagerie locale (Fromagerie Proulx) les soirs en semaine ainsi que les samedis et dimanches midi, alors que des centaines de personnes s’y donnent rendez-vous.

Saint-Georges-de-Windsor est une municipalité en pleine effervescence, reconnue pour le dynamisme et la chaleureuse hospitalité de ses gens. De nombreux organismes communautaires et entreprises animent le milieu, le tout dans un environnement privilégié.

Le secteur résidentiel a récemment connu une hausse remarquable avec la construction d’une douzaine de résidences, d’un immeuble à logements et d’un nouveau CPE de 51 places. Le lac St-Georges offre quant à lui, un endroit de villégiature rustique fort apprécié des vacanciers.

Toutes les forces vives du milieu se donnent la main pour faire de la communauté un endroit où il fait bon vivre. La municipalité a à cœur le bien-être de ses habitants et s’efforce de réaliser tout ce qui peut augmenter leur qualité de vie.

Saint-Georges-de-Windsor, un paysage magnifique, une nature rustique, un milieu humain et une force d’avenir.

Wotton

wotton.ca

Entourée d’une splendide mosaïque de vallons nichés au pied des Appalaches, la municipalité de Wotton offre une villégiature exceptionnelle et un panorama majestueux.

Avec sa population de 1 454 habitants, c’est une municipalité agricole prospère qui compte une vingtaine de fermes, 19 organismes communautaires, 54 entreprises et commerces et de nombreux services, dont un parc industriel, une école primaire, un CPE, un parc municipal, une bibliothèque et plusieurs infrastructures en loisirs tels que piscine municipale, terrain de tennis, Centre multifonctionnel, terrain de balle et jeux de pétanque.
À Wotton, il existe une belle synergie entre les gens et les organismes qui animent le milieu et le rendent des plus dynamiques. Tout est mis en œuvre pour que les besoins de tous soient comblés, allant des plus jeunes aux jeunes de cœur. Avec ses nombreuses familles souches, Wotton a su préserver dans le temps ses valeurs traditionnelles et familiales.

Premier village canton francophone des Cantons-de-l’Est, les citoyens de Wotton sont de grands travaillants et tiennent cela de leurs pionniers qui ont forgé l’âme du Québec rural à titre de premiers propriétaires terriens affranchis des seigneuries. La réputation d’accueil et de convivialité des Wottonnais n’est plus à faire. Chaque année, de nombreux visiteurs reviennent dans la municipalité pour ses attraits agrotouristiques et ses événements. Le Festival country, le Festival des Traditions, la Miellerie Lambert et la ferme et fromagerie La Maison Grise ne sont que quelques exemples de ce qui attirent les visiteurs et rendent fiers les gens qui l’habitent.